Apples and Oranges

22 Nov

If you have an apple and I have an apple and we exchange these apples then you and I will still each have one apple. But if you have an idea and I have an idea and we exchange these ideas, then each of us will have two ideas.”
(George Bernard Shaw)

My favorite Doc illustrates how to eat a whole apple.

“What’s the point of eating an apple whole?”, you ask.  The Atlantic’s medical journalist, James Hamblin, makes two good cases: 1) From an economic standpoint, we can save $13.2 billion worth of wasted apples that ends up being trashed, when the money could be put to relief aids or other helfpul uses. 2) Though the good Doc didn’t explicitly say it, this point is a smart take-away: you get more bang for your buck for eating the whole fruit (minus the seeds, unless you have a thing for cyanide).

I’ve tried the “bottom to top” method several times now and though I like the concept, I could not eat the apples as fast as I wanted to as I always try to carefully avoid eating the seeds.  Whenever I’d finish eating an apple using the “no core” strategy, I’d feel like Applejack feeling smug after picking loads of apples then realizing that there were more to be picked… “How’d ya like them apples!”

In my case, realizing that it takes me longer to eat an apple because I become cautious and self-conscious when I reach the seeds, it makes me less enthusiastic about eating apples.  My solution is to slice the apple, remove the area containing the seeds, and compost said area.  I may not be able to eat an apple like a boss but I sure can slice apples into quarters and put the mythical apple cores in the compost like a boss.

I feel as if I can’t talk about apples without talking about oranges so for those of you who’d like to try eating whole oranges, meaning orange peel and all, go for it.  Orange peels contain a type of carbohydrate called pectin which can help increase beneficial bacteria in the large intestine.  How’d ya like them orange peels!

With the holidays approaching, let’s revisit the tradition of putting oranges in stockings, or why not just give a fruit basket that includes apples and oranges.  Give the gift of health – it’s a gift that keeps on giving.

Leave a Reply

