Oh My Foodness

13 May

The first ever Cottage Bakers Market event that took place during the weekend before Mother’s Day helped promote up-and-coming small business owners from the Eastside and from cities south of Seattle.  One of the vendors I chatted with is Arceli from OH MY FOODNESS.  The business name is pretty catchy, don’t you think.

I stopped by OH MY FOODNESS after being informed that the vendor is a local Hawaiian.  I’ve covered Hawaiian culture and foods for many posts now, such as Oahu and Big Island restaurants, and so I became interested in checking out the baked goods at OH MY FOODNESS.  What caught my attention?  The lemon bars!

OH MY FOODNESS samples

What is your inspiration for OH MY FOODNESS?

My inspiration for OMF is because as a mother of 3, it’s difficult to find treats with good, quality ingredients to satisfy our daughters’ sweet tooth.  So OMF uses better ingredients, that’s better for you and also tastes good.  I use certified organic ingredients & specialize in vegan baked goods.

OH MY FOODNESS

How long have you been baking?

I’ve been baking since I was in high school.

Where do you get your recipes from? Are they traditional or are they recipes handed down from family members or are they original creations?

I find recipes online, in books or get them from friends & family, but always “play” with the recipe & make changes to suit my taste.  With sugar being in most baked goods, I always try to reduce or substitute the amount used in recipes, but still come up with a product that tastes good.  The lemon bars recipe was given from a family friend, but my sister & I have made changes to make it taste the way it does today.

OH MY FOODNESS

How long have you lived in Washington State? Where did you live before Washington State?

My husband & I have lived in WA since 2001.  We moved here with one daughter and now we have 3 daughters.  I was born and raised in Hawaii (Oahu).

What are your favorite desserts, and which one would you consider a comfort dessert?

My favorite dessert is anything with lemon in it.  Thus, I have the lemon bars that is the most popular item I sell.

OH MY FOODNESS

What is your favorite restaurant and dessert place in the city where you are currently residing? And why?

I live in Pacific, which is a very small city so there isn’t a favorite restaurant & dessert place here for me.  However, my favorite restaurant is *Taste @ the SAM in downtown because they use fresh, local, ingredients.  My favorite dessert place is Hot Cakes in Ballard because they are certified organic and also use fresh, local, organic ingredients.  

Arceli credits the Washington State Department of Agriculture’s Cottage Food Operation Program for the opportunity to be in business.  In regards to WSDA’s program, she says, “The WA State Cottage Food Operation permit has allowed me to start OMF from home, which I never thought I’d be able to do.  I am so grateful for it!  This still gives me time to be a stay home mom, homeschool our 2 younger children & bake in the comfort of my home at my convenience w/out having to pay for commercial kitchen space.  I hope more people become aware of the Cottage Food Operation to help those who cannot afford commercial space, but have a desire to start their business of selling baked goods from home.”

***

OH MY FOODNESS is a product of Arceli’s enterprising spirit in combination with her passion for baking.  As a mother, Arceli’s concern for her daughters’ health has guided her into using quality and organic ingredients.  The lemon bars she make are subtly tart and just have the right amount of sweetness.  For those of you of you who like sugar on the soft side, the OH MY FOODNESS lemon bars will hit the spot.  Click on any of the photos and you will be directed to Arceli’s site at OH MY FOODNESS.

*Author disclaimer: I have actually already reviewed TASTE Restaurant here

One Response to “Oh My Foodness”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cottage Bakers Market | Chronic Cravings - 21, May 2013

    […] I learned about Cottage Bakers Market while searching for upcoming weekend events in Bellevue… that happened three weeks ago.  The first Cottage Bakers Market was held on May 4th and I’m glad that I attended.  On its website, there was a promotion for “free samples” and “free treats” and I’d be lying if I say that those weren’t the baits that got me, but besides the free treats, I was interested in seeing the vendors and their wares, and hearing about their stories, like Erin’s from Irish Rose Bakery and Arceli from OH MY FOODNESS. […]

Leave a Reply

