Kale Chips

26 Jun

After having finished a bag of tuber chips, I wanted more chips.  Due to the damage I already did with The Hubby’s bag of shrimp chips, I felt guilty and decided to set my hungry eyes toward a different direction.  And that’s when I remembered the two bunches of kale (red and green) that we recently bought from the Redmond Saturday Market.

I love kale (wow, okay, I call the shirt for this), but I only ever cook it in two ways: in a soup or sautéed.  I never thought of making kale chipsKale chips just sound too vegan for me.  No offense, dear vegans.  I have nothing against veggies.  As a matter of fact, I love veggies (I call the shirt for this too).  Somewhere out there, someone’s saying “never say never.”  That someone beneath a pale moonlight is right.  I should never have said never.

I have yet come across a recipe for kale chips using rendered bacon fat instead of olive oil, and I wanted to be the first.  Unfortunately, or fortunately (depending on how you see it), we didn’t have any available.  Nevertheless, the kale chips I made had enough crunch and salt to make me have my fill of chips for the day.

Kale Chips

6-8 kale leaves
3-4 tbs of olive oil (or melted bacon fat, for the interested)
pinch of salt

Wash and dry the leaves.  Remove the ribs and tear the leaves into bite-sized pieces.  Drizzle the oil/fat and toss the leaves.  Season with salt.  Bake at 350˚F for 8-10 mins or until crispy.  Baking time will vary depending on the size of the leaves, so leave in the oven until the desired crispness is reached.

Smile and serve with lemon juice for dipping.

2 Responses to “Kale Chips”

  1. Ryan 27, June 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    The baked kale chips were crunchy and not tough at all, they just break apart. I wonder how other varieties of kale would turn out, specifically those with less broad leaves and tougher leaves.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cincinnati Chili Spaghetti | Chronic Cravings - 6, January 2014

    […] diet, the Cincinnati Chili Spaghetti is not for you.  But I’m thoughtful and thusly, this one is my gift for folks who need to watch what they […]

Leave a Reply

