Crunchy Peanut Butter Cookies

13 Feb

I don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day in the sense that it should be celebrated (i.e. flowers, chocolates, bling, blah, blah, blah), so by connection The Hubby doesn’t either.  Like so many other holidays, it’s overtly commercialized and the capitalistic opportunities are many.  Why, just a couple of days shy of the New Year, I noticed a few stores in Bellevue Square already marketing their Valentine’s Day wares… oh those merchants… they just couldn’t let their patrons bask in the newness of the New Year.  Not that this post has anything to do with the upcoming heartsy-fartsy day but… this past weekend, The Hubby made Crunchy Peanut Butter Cookies after my persistent “Would you like to learn how to bake pb cookies that are really easy to make?”  Who wouldn’t, right.  (Notwithstanding folks with peanut allergies or dislike peanuts.)

Just as I’m not into V-day, I’m also not into baking cookies, with the exception of the holiday season; in which case, I humor traditions.  Because baking cookies doesn’t fall on the list of activities I-want-to-do, I had to recruit The Hubby into cookie making.  Lucky me, he learns quick!

When it comes to literature, I’m not stuck in a genre and in fact, I read a diversity of books – one category being recipe books.  I found the easy-to-make Crunchy PB Cookies recipe in an eight year old Food & Wine cookbook.  It’s one of the books that I took with me when I flew from my parents’ nest because it was the only cookbook I have that boasts a 0.5mm thickness, or thinness I should say.  All my other cookbooks are chunky and cumbersome.

The cookies came out to be nice, crunchy (as its name suggests it would be), and sweet.  Too sweet for me, unfortunately.  The Hubby is fine with the cookies, but he has a sweet tooth.  For those of you who love your sweets and love peanut butter, you’ll love this recipe.  Consider making a batch for that sweet tooth and even that sweetheart of yours!

Crunchy Peanut Butter Cookies*

1 c smooth peanut butter
1 c sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 large egg, lightly beaten
2 tbs finely chopped peanuts (optional)
1/4 c chocolate chips (optional)

Preheat oven to 350˚F.  Mix peanut butter with sugar, baking soda, and eggs.  Add peanuts and chocolate chips, if using.  Roll the mixture into 24 balls.  Create a crosshatch pattern on each cookie using a fork.  Bake the cookies for 15 minutes or until the cookies are lightly browned.

Smile and serve.


HAPPY V DAY!

*Reference:
Cowin, Dana and Sigal, Jane. (2004). Food and Wine: Fast. New York: American Express Publishing Corporation.

2 Responses to “Crunchy Peanut Butter Cookies”

  1. ryancr 14, February 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    Will experiment with reducing the sugar next time to see how they turn out. Though for us sweet tooths, it was on par with the sweetness of a normal cookie and adding Marshmallow Fluff generates a crunchy fluffernutter cookie!

    • chroniccravings 17, February 2012 at 2:34 pm #

      Crunchy PB Fluffernutter Cookie Sandwich?? What a yummy idea!

Leave a Reply

