NaNoWriMo 2011 Frenzy

1 Dec

December Day! December Day!

That didn’t sound quite as exciting as “May Day! May Day!” – not short enough and poor rhyming scheme, I suppose.  It’s the first of December and NaNoWriMo is over.  What with all my excuses and Skyrim playing, I didn’t make it to the coveted winners’ circle this year.  20K words short of winning.  Damn.  I’ll get you next year, my novel.  I’ll get you.

I love how the badge design shows a beach backdrop… it almost sends a message that writing is a vacation.  It couldn’t be farther from the truth.  Writing frantically, on a deadline and with a required word count, is no day at the beach.  So to professional writers out there, three cheers to all of you!

To console my disappointment, I made coconut balls, which are actually macaroons that turned out looking like white fuzzy balls.  I’m not much of a coconut fan unless it’s covered in chocolate or part of a cake.  For a quick sweet fix, macaroons hit the spot.  A few pieces will be enough to lift my down but not defeated writer’s soul.  Thankfully, I’ve got a cute housemate who loves coconuts.  The rest is all yours Hubbs!

One Response to “NaNoWriMo 2011 Frenzy”

  1. ryancr 6, December 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    I’ll write an ode to coconut but after I clear out a few more dungeons…

Leave a Reply

