Skyrim is delicious

12 Nov

11.11.11 was a big day for many gamers, as the much anticipated RPG, developed by Bethesda Game Studios, arrived.  And both The Hubby and I have been taking turns exploring the vast and adventure-filled world that is Skyrim.  Needless to say that The Hubby took the first crack and I was more than happy to oblige as I like ‘backseat driving’ while he plays… of course, he prefers I remain a quiet audience, but where’s the fun in that (for me).  Although, I was uncharacteristically quiet during the intro… and that, dear reader, was the kind of hold that the anticaption of seeing Skyrim had for me.

In a nutshell, Skyrim is fill in the blank with a positive superlative and it’s the perfect world to get your heroics on, and also to get your appetite excited.  There is an amazing array of food in Skyrim and I won’t be surprised to know that food lovers abound in the Bethesda dev and writer ranks.  With my trusty WP7, I took photos of the foods in Windhelm.  For those of you who already found Windhelm, you will no doubt be familiar of Candlehearth Hall, the market, and The Palace of the Kings.

After an evening dedicated to exploring Skyrim, we both hankered for a simple huntsman meal the following day.  Ehrr, we aren’t exactly in a hunter-gatherer society so we acquired our meat from Bill the Butcher in Redmond.  Besides, if I were to go hunting, I’m afraid I’d end up hitting a two-legged creature instead of a four-legged one.  You see, my archery skills are low, and I’d prefer using a flame spell and roasting the ruminant on the spot, rather than launching arrows.

Here’s my interpretation of a dinner that you’d probably find in The Drunken Huntsman (in Whiterun) or other bars and inns all over Skyrim: grilled beef tenderloin, steamed potatoes, and sautéed mushrooms (chanterelles, in my case).  How awesome would it be if the meal were served on a metal or wooden plate with a giant tankard of ale right beside it.  No metal plates for us though, just ceramic, and no tankard – but The Hubby did have a cold bottle of Spaten instead, and no complaints.

Any fellow Dragonborns out there with a Skyrim inspired recipe to share, send a holler and let’s exchange ideas.  As for me, I need to decide what to do next: either complete Saarthal or jump ship and follow the main quest… what to do, what to do…

4 Responses to “Skyrim is delicious”

  1. ryancr 15, November 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    *Coplandesque theme*

    Dragon, it’s what’s for dinner.

    *duh duh duh*

    • chroniccravings 16, November 2011 at 5:02 pm #

      Hrmmph, just because you’ve roasted and toasted dragons already (snark, snark, snark)…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Turkey Pot Pie « Chronic Cravings - 6, December 2011

    […] Thanksgiving remnants are encased in delicious pastry.  Thane Hubby had most of it because this *housecarl was too busy with turkey ramen (not […]

  2. Lunar New Year Cake « Chronic Cravings - 26, January 2012

    […] being the Year of the Dragon, there would be no creeping.  Dragons roar, don’t they?  (My Dovahkiin character knows this fully well.  Fortunately, she can roar too.)  Who else would come to my […]

Leave a Reply

