MC Frontalot at PAX 2010

7 Sep

We found ourselves in a sweet spot at the aisle seat of row R in Benaroya Hall during PAX 2010’s  Saturday concert.  One of Ryan’s  favorite musicians, that he got me hooked on to also, is MC Frontalot whose unique music has created a hip hop subgenre called nerdcore.  This is PAX numero quatro for us.  Last year, Frontalot performed for the Friday concert but not for Saturday so we missed him.  But this year, we endured a long serpentine queue to watch the concert.  Luckily, we made the cut in time to see MC Frontalot.  His performance was über fabulous.  Why?  How?  Because he sang “Shame of the Otaku”.  With Rai Kamishiro.  Awesome.

Frontalot finished off his performance with the song “Yellow Lasers” and the audience (especially those of us in the aisle seats) got a treat when MC Frontalot and friends marched off the stage with style, lead by Blak Lotus (Frontalot’s bassist), Paul from Paul and Storm, Gminor7 (Frontalot’s keyboardist), an unidentified special guy (if someone out there knows who he is, holler), Storm from Paul and Storm, The SturGENiUS (Frontalot’s  drummer), Jonathan Coulton, and la creme de la creme, MC Frontalot.

Watch the vid that my hubby took (with a Canon SD1100).

4 Responses to “MC Frontalot at PAX 2010”

  1. Illuminated Phoenix 10, September 2010 at 11:48 am #

    Nice! The friend I went with on Saturday had no interest in attending the concert, and I wasn’t sure how I would manage line wrangling alone as I didn’t have a wristband, so I didn’t get to the concert. (And I showed up sooo early on Saturday morning in an attempt to procure a wristband, too! Thank goodness the convention center staff had a coffee cart roaming through the queue room, otherwise I would have fallen asleep by 9am! Eek!)

    I saw Ryan on the escalators at one point, but he was going up, I was going down, and there were waves and waves of geeks in between. Sorry that I missed you both, but it looks as though you had as much fun as I did! ^_^

    • chroniccravings 10, September 2010 at 11:54 am #

      Oh man! I was hoping we’d run into each other! We arrived late, mostly because of me since I was riding the crimson wave at the time (heehee, TMI, sorry), so I have less swag this year than last ‘cus of less time to stand in line for the prized shirts. Next year, let’s plan to bump into each other. 😉

  2. Illuminated Phoenix 11, September 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    Sounds like an excellent plan to me! PAX is more fun when you have people you know to share it with. ^_^

    My swag haul was smaller this year as well, but I did manage to snap up a glow-in-the-dark Tron shirt on Friday, so I can’t complain too much.

    I rather wanted one of the PvZ pylon hats so many people were wearing, but I never did figure out where they were being handed out. Ah well. I’ll content myself with destroying the zombie hordes in the game, instead. That requires less dusting anyway, so it’s sort of a win, right? :p

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pancake Bob at Lost Lake Cafe and Lounge | Chronic Cravings - 8, September 2014

    […] PAX Prime 2014 came and went.  The Hubby and I are on our 7th year of consecutive PAX Prime attendance.  I say that with some pride because as conventions go, PAX is dedicated to gaming and gamers.  Although it’s not the only convention for gamers by gamers, it’s the only one we attend.  PAX debuted in Bellevue, Washington in 2004, and it took us 3 years before we attended one.  In 2010, we got a real treat at the Saturday concert when MC Frontalot and friends marched off from the stage to the beat of his “Yellow Lasers”. […]

Leave a Reply

