Toffee and Nougat and citrus

17 Aug

Toffee and Nougat are epicureans.  They have a discerning taste for cruciferous vegetables, berries, melons, carrots, sometimes ice cream and wine.  Yes, you read the last part correctly.  What’s more they’re natural Raw Foodies/Vegans, something I will never be nor ever want to be, but that’s a different tale altogether. 

Their daily fare consists of pellets, alfalfa hay, lettuce, and carrots.  Because I found their diet rather limiting, I used to continually ask Ryan what foods can I give them.  So when Ryan and I decided to dance the dance of shame, I self-appointed myself as Nougat and Toffee’s personal dietician.  Ryan checked different sites to see what foods are safe for piggies.  It’s a pretty long list.  In the end, I asked him what foods should we NOT feed the piggies.  The good man compiled a list and posted it on our fridge.

These are what Toffee and Nougat have actually eaten outside of their daily diet: apple, nectarine, cherries, cantaloupe, watermelon, honeydew, oppo (a type of melon popular in Asia), cucumber, zucchini, yellow squash, blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, kale, cabbage, bok choy, collard greens (the very foods listed as “best offered sparingly”, they eat with gusto), carrot tops, and more recently, citrus.

Their taste for citrus began this past winter when I gave them kumquat because I was curious.  The piggies would turn their heads away if they don’t like what’s being given to them, and to my surprise they actually ate the pieces of kumquat I offered.  They even wanted more.  So I wondered… if they like kumquat, then maybe they’d like tangerine.  Yes!  Clementine?  Yes!  Orange?  Yes!  Grapefruit?  Lemon?  Hrmm, watch this vid made by the Hubz and find out for yourself.

11 Responses to “Toffee and Nougat and citrus”

  1. Illuminated Phoenix 17, August 2010 at 11:35 am #

    They are too cute! I’ve never seen guinea pigs eat before, so it surprises me that they don’t use their front feet! I’m far more used to watching rats which do, I guess. 🙂

    • chroniccravings 17, August 2010 at 11:49 am #

      We got a kick watching them eat lemon and make lemon faces. 🙂

  2. ryanr 17, August 2010 at 11:41 am #

    I don’t think you’re getting your glasses back.

    • chroniccravings 17, August 2010 at 11:51 am #

      That’s fine. She looks cuter wearing them than me. 😛

  3. kat 21, August 2010 at 8:03 am #

    you know about my musophobia, so i cannot watch this video, but i’m sure they’re cute in it.

  4. jlao 4, September 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    That video was too cute!! I didn’t think they would like lemon so I was very surprised to see Nougat gobbling it up.

    • chroniccravings 6, September 2010 at 8:41 am #

      Yea, we didn’t expect them to like any sour foods at all. But what citrus-lovin’ piggies they actually are!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A sweet farewell to Nougat « Chronic Cravings - 22, November 2010

    […] Seven days ago, Nougat, one of our two dear guinea pigs, bade us farewell.  Burrowed into her bedding with her legs neatly tucked underneath her, she peacefully went to a deep, endless sleep.  Losing someone is hard.  Losing a loved one is even harder.  We love that little piggy.  Nougat was sweet, calm, cuddly, and demanding.  Her service bell rang regularly, our signal that the piggy wanted something other than pellets for food.  She loved to eat and we couldn’t help but humor the gourmet pig. […]

  2. Sammamish Farmers Market « Chronic Cravings - 21, May 2011

    […] on Wednesday from 4pm until 8pm.  The hubby and I normally go to the market  together (not to buy a fat pig, since we already have one) but it looks like I’ll be flying solo this time around since work […]

  3. A sweet farewell to Toffee « Chronic Cravings - 29, September 2011

    […] morning, the last of the sweet piggy duo that was Nougat and Toffee went to her final rest.  It never gets easy losing a pet but the thought that the little friend […]

Leave a Reply

