Have you eaten?

17 Feb

I often hanker for Korean food which consequently leads to Ryan and me paying a visit to Seoul Hot Pot, a popular Korean restaurant in Redmond.  Given my newfound interest in Korean cuisine (newfound because it has only been 1+ year of consistent hankering), imagine my glee when I befriended a Korean international student in my gen chem class.  My glee turned to exaltation when SungYong offered to cook for us.  Needless to say, we accepted the gracious offer, invited the chap over, and allowed him use of our kitchen to prepare the good eats.

Bob un mug ut u yo?  In Korea, their “How are you?” loosely translates to “Have you eaten?”  I don’t know about you but I take that greeting as an indicator of how serious they are when it comes to food and eating.  Though one could say, “But then so many other cultures are serious about food.”  I say to that one, “That’s true. But then again, can you think of another culture that greets by asking if you’ve eaten yet?” Imagine being asked if you’ve eaten instead of the usual “how’s it going?” or “how are you?”. The Korean greeting strikes me as something of a trigger for a conversation avalanche. I, for one, will likely keep talking after having answered the question. After all, who doesn’t like talking about food? All right, that’s a hypothetical question. No responses necessary, thank you.

Without any more rambling, here’s a photographic tale of SungYong hard at work making Jap chae and Dduk gook.

 

 

_mg_43672

 

Jap chae– potato starch noodles with vegetables and ground beef seasoned with soy sauce and garlic

  

 _mg_43689 

 

 

Dduk gook- soup made with beef, sliced rice cake, and beef broth, garnished with scallions and eggs

 

 

_mg_43624

Black rice

 

 

_mg_43782

 

Pan-fried beef (I must admit that my bulgogi marinade did not pass the taste test.  It needs to be sweeter according to Sung. I suppose next time, I won’t be so stingy with the sucrose.)

 

 

_mg_43852

 

Pan-fried chicken (This one too, unfortunately.  It looks like it’s going to be “practice, practice, practice” for me.  No doubt Ryan will benefit from the fruits of my labor. Naturally.)

 

4 Responses to “Have you eaten?”

  1. Joshua Allen 20, February 2009 at 3:14 pm #

    Whoa! That guy can cook!

  2. Bane 25, February 2009 at 2:09 am #

    Thanks for the leftovers 😀

  3. Leon 27, February 2009 at 12:44 pm #

    “Have you eaten?” is a traditional Chinese greeting. It is a common greeting in Asia (for the countries influenced by China).

    • chroniccravings 24, August 2009 at 8:20 pm #

      Nifty info, thanks for sharing and for pointing out that there are other cultures with the greeting “Have you eaten yet?”.

Leave a Reply

