Potage au TLC

6 Jan

My immune system took a beating from the insane winter weather (in the Pacific NW), holiday stress (that somewhat soured my holiday spirit), lack of sleep, and chaotic travel conditions. Sure enough, when we returned from visiting our folks in CA, I came down with a fever and a head cold. Notwithstanding my post-holiday ills, I managed to clean up our less-than-organized dwelling and feel better within a few days thanks to plenty of rest and fluids in the form of water, tea, fruit juice, and soup. Particularly, the yummy lentil soup Ryan made for me.

Lentil Soup

Ingredients:

122 g Onion

10 cloves Garlic

142 g Celery

185 g Carrot

1 c (dry) Yellow Lentils

2 tbs Olive oil

2 qt Chicken broth

1 qt Water

1 large Bay leaf

Salt and pepper to taste

 

img_0068

img_0069

Over medium heat, sauté onion and garlic in olive oil until onion is translucent. Add celery, carrot, and lentils. When celery is slightly softened, add the bay leaf, broth, and water. Bring everything to a boil then lower heat, stir carefully. Skim off any foam that forms on the surface. Simmer for 30-45 minutes or until the soup is thickened.

Serve with a dollop of plain yoghurt or sour cream.

lentilall2

 

Saturday night was the night I was not in the mood to cook. Not there that there weren’t any nights in the past or will there be nights in the future that I won’t be in the mood for cooking but this past Saturday, being sick was my reason. Fatigued, I asked Ryan to make soup for dinner. Lucky me, he didn’t need to be asked twice. Though he did ask me what soup is it that I wanted and how to make it. So like a drill sergeant, I ordered him about as I gave my instructions. Lucky me, he follows instructions very well and is quite handy in the kitchen.

 

1-21

3-4

5-6

 

Ah, my cure-all… soup made with TLC!

 

img_0118

 

2 Responses to “Potage au TLC”

  1. ryanr 6, January 2009 at 8:58 pm #

    That delish lentil soup hit the spot, it was freezing outside that night!

  2. Bane 11, January 2009 at 11:07 pm #

    New site design? It looks good (site and soup).

    Bane

Leave a Reply

