Mango a-go-go

5 Jun

It’s oblong.  Sometimes the fruit is the color of a rising sun or sometimes a setting sun.  When unripe the skin is green (depending on the variant).  When ripe, it’s sweet and has a floral note which is a vague reminiscent of a ripe nectarine. 

What could it be?

Mmm, mmm, mango.

Mango has a special place in my heart because it’s the food item that was the focal point of my first cooking experience.  When I was eight (or was I nine?) my Mom invited me to help her bake my sisters’ birthday cakes.  One of the two was a mango cake.

For me, this sweet delightful fruit evokes a fond memory of my first cooking (or baking as it were) experience.  I’ll never forget the first time I used an electric hand mixer and how I made my Mom laugh when I told her that I didn’t want to hold it too long because it “moved too fast.”  At the time, my young muscles couldn’t handle that blasted kitchen machinery. 

Alas, no mango cake in this entry.  But what I do have is a refreshing mango salad that’d make a fabulous accompaniment alongside grilled goods.

Mango Salad

2 mangoes, cubed
2-3 tbsp of chopped red onions
Cilantro for garnish
Salt and chili pepper flakes to taste

Mix and enjoy.

 

 

One Response to “Mango a-go-go”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Local Hawaiian Eats is What’s for Dinner « Chronic Cravings - 2, September 2011

    […] a contribution to the dinner, I made a mango salad variation, the addition of shrimps was an inspiration that came to me during a grilling party at […]

Leave a Reply

