Issaquah Brewhouse

12 May

Almost in the heart of downtown Issaquah, along Sunset Way, just several hundred feet from the Issaquah State Salmon Hatchery, you’ll find Issaquah Brewhouse, one of Rogue Ales’ meeting halls and acquired by Rogue in 2000.  The Hubby and I have been to Issaquah Brewhouse three times, and it isn’t until this third time that I’ve decided to opine about the restaurant.

Issaquah BrewhouseBecause it was a Saturday evening when we went and during dinner hour to boot, the main dining hall was packed, and so we were seated in what seems to be an extension.

inside Issaquah BrewhouseThere were already a couple of groups in the extension room so we were in good company.  The noise level was pretty active but we still were able to speak and hear one another, so it wasn’t too bad.  Until a baby decided to wail, and at that point we communicated by making faces.  Sorry mystery baby, no excuses for you… lovely and loud little thing that you are.

Issaquah Brewhouse’s menu shows off a long list of pub food options.  I was on a seafood mood (more like “see food” mood) and ended up ordering too much.

Fried Frog Legs

Our first visit to Issaquah Brewhouse included an order of fried frog legs, and because it has been a couple of years since my last batch of fried frog legs, I decided to make a go for it.  I find that I order frog legs more to the fact that I’m reliving my Mom’s memory of eating frog legs as a kid, rather than ordering it because I like it.  I suppose if I were to see turtle soup, I’d order it to relive my Dad’s memory.  For those of you who’ve never had frog legs and interested in trying them, here’s a spoiler: frog legs taste like chicken… fishy chicken.  There.  Enjoy.  Though I can’t say if all of the amphibian class taste like fishy chicken, since I don’t plan on trying newt or salamander, fried or otherwise.

Popcorn Shrimps A menu item worth ordering is the popcorn shrimp.  Nice and crunchy.  You can’t go wrong.

halibut and chips

I have a habit of ordering a couple of appetizers and calling them my entrée, but because I was famished, I ended up ordering halibut and chips also.  I guess I must have said my order so fast that The Hubby didn’t realize that I probably over-ordered.  And of course, I didn’t realize that I did over-order until I was halfway done with the fish and chips (that I ended up soaking in malt vinegar, just because I like malt vinegar).

Kurobuta ham sandwich

The Hubby ordered a very tasty Kurobuta ham sandwich which I had a few bites of.  He ended up saving the other half to take home so he could help me finish up the fish and chips.  If I didn’t have the fried frog legs, I’d definitely have demolished the fish and chips without help.

I can speak about the food, but I can’t really speak all that much about the brew since I only took sips of the Imperial IPA and the “Big Ass Strong” ale that The Hubby ordered.  I know I won’t do the drinks any justice by saying that the IPA was bitter but not bad, and the “Big Ass Strong” was stouty but not all that strong.

Issaquah Brewhouse on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.