Lunchbox Laboratory in Bellevue

27 Feb

A long (not so long) time ago, during the summer of 2009, we went to Lunchbox Laboratory for the first time.  At that time, Lunchbox Lab was still located in Seattle’s fascinating Ballard district.  Lunchbox Lab has expanded since 2009 and it now has two locations: Seattle’s South Lake Union and Downtown Bellevue.  We haven’t been to Lunchbox Lab since 2009.  After our first meal made such a huge impression, we were afraid to go back in fear of developing an addiction.  This past weekend, we went to the Bellevue location with two friends, Mike and Noel, to celebrate their recent engagement.  Congratulations, lovebirds!

Lunchbox Lab - Bellevue

The surroundings at Lunchbox Laboratory Bellevue was a far cry from the shack-like, casual feel of the old Ballard Lunchbox Laboratory.  Had we been regular customers, I’m sure I would have felt a strong bout of schmaltz after setting foot in the Bellevue location.

Lunchbox Lab - Bellevue

But instead of feeling nostalgic, I was feeling hungry.  I didn’t have much in the way of breakfast and was saving myself for lunch when I could indulge my hunka hunka burning love for burger and fries.  I expected a hunka hunka burning heartburn, but fortunately, that didn’t happen.

build-a-burger and fries

I chose the “build-a-burger” option and it consisted of churken (that’s a chicken and turkey combo) with Lunchbox onions and black truffle mayo.  I’m surprised that my burger wasn’t oozing with condiments.

Tear Jerker with mac fries

The Hubby‘s Tear Jerker was messy and filled with goodies like habanero mayo and Satan’s tears ketchup.  I like spice, but after having my burger, a taste of the Tear Jerker turned my mouth something fiery.  Regarding taste, my burger had little impact, unlike the fries which made me come back for more.  A couple of hours after our lunch date, we actually did go back for more fries and also to try out “The Rinds of Life” (not pictured).

I would return again (and I did), not so much for the burgers but for the fries and the ass kickin’ “Appetizer Experiments”.  For those of you who love a good Happy Hour, Lunchbox Laboratory has daily happy hours from 3pm-6pm and 9pm until closing time.

Lunchbox Laboratory on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Lunchbox Laboratory in Bellevue”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lost Roo | Chronic Cravings - 26, September 2013

    […] anything that sounds Californian must be Californian, so when The Hubby told me that our friend, Mike, is getting married in Long Beach I whooped because 1) he’s found someone worthy to spend […]

  2. Tipsy Cow Burger Bar | Chronic Cravings - 15, July 2014

    […] (or should I say, mooing) about Tipsy Cow since it opened in 2013.  I already have Five Guys and Lunchbox Lab in my list of tried and true burger bars, I wasn’t about to add another but el hubbo was […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.