Tides Tavern

3 Feb

Aaahhh, Gig Harbor…

Gig Harbor, WA

Ooohhh, Tides Tavern

Tides Tavern

Dear reader, for my review, I’m going to get cheesy by using a popular 1970s song whose lyrics I freely revised as an ode to my love for seafood.  If you don’t know how the Theme from Love Story goes, play the video, listen, and then read “A Seafood Love Story” below.  If you want to sing along, start at 0:32.  Humor me.

A Seafood Love Story

Where do I begin,
to tell the story of how great seafood can be?
The tasty food story that is older than the sea.
The simple truth about what fish and chips brings to me.
Where do I start?

fish and chips - Arctic cod and chips

 With my first big bite  
It gave a meaning to this empty world of mine
There’d never be another love, another time
Seafood came into my life and made the living fine
It fills my heart

 It fills my heart with very special things
With angels’ songs, with wild imaginings
It fills my soul with so much love
That anywhere I go, I’m never lonely
With calamari along, who could be lonely?
I reach for a tentacle, it’s always there

calamari

 How long does it last?
Can love be measured by the hours in a day?
I have no answers now, but this much I can say
I know I’ll need it till the stars all burn away
And it’ll be there, it’ll be there
(So long as we support seafood sustainability)

And that’s the end of my Tides Tavern review.  Let’s just say that their seafood dishes are so outstanding that I sang home about it.  To the Seattlelites and Eastsiders out there, make the drive… it’s worth it.

Tides Tavern on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Tides Tavern”

  1. Ryan 13, February 2013 at 12:30 am #

    Too bad we went here after Harvester restaurant as I would have preferred to fill up here. =) The calamari was light and crispy, not oily or too chewy. The fish and chips was a set of solid fish that happens to come battered and fried and with French fries– rather than fish and chips you get elsewhere where the fish is a poor cut, or too heavily battered which masks the fish.

    We didn’t know it at the time but Tides Tavern was in the list of Coastal Living’s 2012 best seafood dives: http://www.coastalliving.com/travel/lodging-dining/americas-50-best-seafood-dives-2012-00414000075455/page27.html (though so is Lowell’s which is weird because that place is just okay).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Nijo Sushi Bar & Grill | Chronic Cravings - 18, July 2013

    […] what I have to say about the fried calamari… where are the tentacles?  I want more tentacles. (I’m omitting the exclamation point because “I want more tentacles!” just […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.