Harvester Restaurant

3 Feb

I like American cuisine — when it’s done right, it’s comfort food to the core.  Why would American foods be comfort foods?  A food anthropologist could point to the fact that the U.S. of A. came to be because of immigrants; the newcomers obviously brought with them their culture, which would definitely include cuisine.  When we want comfort, we commonly turn to food… hence, comfort foods.  Being in a new country, the immigrants would cook up foods from their mother nations to cheer their spirits and alleviate homesickness.  Food is so important to human comfort that NASA has a Space Food Research Lab to plan menus for our astronauts and also to prepare for that day when humans begin colonizing outside of their comfort zone.

If you think about it, American cuisine is a combination of the world’s comfort foods.  What makes American cuisine impressive is the breadth of food that is thought of as American despite the origins: hotdog, hamburger, and pizza come to mind.  I promise that’s the end of me being pedantic about food.  Ahem.  For this post.

When asked what our favorite cuisine is, many Americans would point out (and sometimes loftily) other nations’ cuisines.  I’m sure there are plenty of “Top # favorite cuisines” lists that would include French, Italian, and Japanese.  It’s understandable.  I could explain, if you want, but I promised to stop being a pedant.  For this post.

I’m not a “steak-and-potatoes” gal, but I do consider myself a “burger-and-fries” gal (yup, same difference).  The  reason why I chose Harvester Restaurant for lunch when The Hubby and I did a day trip to Gig Harbor was so I could have the Grilled Liver & Onions, which to me is comfort food.  Gag all you want, but offal is awesome, not awful, in my book.  My mother used to make sautéed liver (and also lengua estofada, but that’s another story) so having it in a restaurant would have been a first.

inside Harvester Restaurant

My first liver and onions in a restaurant sadly didn’t live up to my expectations.  Like a good eater, I finished my meal.  But don’t think I didn’t complain all the way ’til the last bite.  The liver was tough and overly flattened – more like steamrolled – and was made (just this side of) okay thanks to the hash potato, and showering both the liver and potato with two types of Tabasco sauce.

grilled liver and onions

The Hubby had French Dip Panini (just one, so really, panino), and compared to my grilled liver and onions, the beef sandwich was pretty good.  I did say “compared to my grilled liver and onions” so the sandwich could be better.  On the good side, the fries were excellent.

French dip sandwich

Harvester Restaurant & Lounge, if you’re going to continue serving American cuisine, please make it right so people would return… for comfort.

To the Chef or Head Cook at Harvester Restaurant & Lounge,

American cuisine has a lot of good points going for it.  Consider yourself an American cuisine steward and take pride in the foods you make, and don’t go steamrolling cuts of meats and organ meats that easily toughens from too much handling.  Excellent fries though, keep it up!

Thank you.

Harvester Restaurant on Urbanspoon

One Response to “Harvester Restaurant”

  1. Ryan 13, February 2013 at 12:35 am #

    The French dip was okay in a pinch and the fries were solid– crispy and not mealy. The liver was tough but I wasn’t put off by that as much as I was the hash browns which needed a healthy splash of Tabasco and salt to un-bland them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.