Joy Palace

22 Aug

“Let’s do dim sum!”

This past Saturday, I had a lunch date with Helen, my very pregnant girlfriend, along with her husband, and their almost 2-year old daughter.  We were supposed to have a picnic, but I forgot to bring utensils for our provisions, and I know eating Hawaiian meatballs with our hands would have been very messy… though fun, I think.  So I went with impulse and suggested we do dim sum.  Helen was open to the idea.  The next thing I said was…

“Where’s a good dim sum place that’s near here?”

At the time, we were in Seward Park in South Seattle.  I thought that we’d end up going to Chinatown, since that’s where I’d typically go for dim sum.  But we didn’t go to Chinatown.  In less than 10 minutes, we found ourselves in Joy Palace.

The last time Helen and I ate out together was several years ago… before boys and marriage entered our pictures.  The dim sum trip was special to me and I find it appropriate to say…

“Oh joy!”

Our dim sum included:

  1. Rice congee (sow yok jook)
  2. Seafood dumpling (hoyseen gaw)
  3. Baked BBQ Pork Bun (jjing cha seew bow)
  4. Ginger & Scallion Beef Tripe
  5. Steamed Sticky Rice (no my gai)
  6. Eggplant Stuffed Shrimp Paste
  7. Deep Fried Shredded Taro Egg Roll
  8. Egg Tart (dan tant)
  9. Fried Bean Curd Skin with Shrimp (seen jook ha)
  10. Fried Tofu Stuffed Shrimp
  11. Steamed Chinese kale (gai lan)

The pinyin translations in Mandarin were provided by my good friend.  And the ratings below are from yours truly.  I based my ratings on “joy”.

  1. Rice congee – a whole lotta joy!
  2. Seafood dumpling – some joy
  3. Baked BBQ Pork Bun – just joy
  4. Ginger & Scallion Beef Tripe – joyously tender
  5. Steamed Sticky Rice – no joy because I was too full to try it so I passed
  6. Eggplant Stuffed Shrimp Paste – a lot of joy
  7. Deep Fried Shredded Taro Egg Roll – overjoyed!
  8. Egg Tart – enjoyed it
  9. Fried Bean Curd Skin with Shrimp – couldn’t work up any joy for it
  10. Fried Tofu Stuffed Shrimp – just joy
  11. Steamed Chinese kale – enjoyed it

Joy Palace is pretty roomy and can handle many diners at once.  I guesstimate a 300-seating capacity, though it’s hard to tell that from the angle I took.  If you have a lot of dough and have many friends (like about 300), and you’re generous, take them all to Joy Palace and have a joy-filled time.

There’s good dim sum and then there’s really good dim sum.  I’m joyous to say that Joy Palace falls under the “really good dim sum” end of the curve, and that I enjoyed many of the dishes, and that most of them were a joy to eat.  I know Juna, my friend’s daughter, agree with me.

I don’t know about you but I’m all “punned out”.  However, I can’t leave without a bit of happy happy joy joy.  I know what you’re thinking…

“Oh joy…”

Joy Palace on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.