The Sam Vimes BLT

31 Jan

_mg_42271

… Carrot came in quietly and placed a plate on the desk. “Angua told me all about it,” he said. “Well done, sir.”
“What do you mean, well done?” said Vimes, looking at his healthy sandwich lunch. “I nearly started a war!”
“Ah, but they didn’t know you were bluffing.”
“I probably wasn’t.” Vimes carefully lifted the top of the bacon, lettuce and tomato sandwich and smiled inwardly. Good old Cheery. She knew what a Vimes BLT was all about. It was about having to lift up quite a lot of crispy bacon before you found the miserable skulking vegetables. You might never notice them at all. …

… “I’m sure you intend to, Sam, but you look like a horrible warning,” said Sybil. “When did you last eat?”
“I had a lettuce, tomato, and
bacon sandwich, dear,” he said, endeavouring by tone of voice to suggest that the bacon had been a mere condiment rather than a slab barely covered by the bread. …

-Thud!, Terry Pratchett (2005)

Thud! came into my possession when Hammad, a guy I befriended during my academic time in lovely London, passed on the book when he left for a fancy consulting firm work in Dubai. We got to know each other thanks to a mutual friend, Albert, who was in the same program as Hammad. All of us attended University College London and lived in the same residency hall.

Thud! has been gathering dust in our bookshelf until more recently when it began calling me to read it (more like Bane, Ryan’s and my friend, praising how exceptional of an author Terry Pratchett is and encouraging us to read a Pratchett novel). I heeded the call and now I’m reading it. I haven’t finished it yet but will likely do so before the next week ends. It was actually a slow start and it felt forced as well, but perhaps because I wasn’t really up to reading a fantasy novel at the time. I’d have called it quits but the pace picked up after the first ten pages and the hero’s multi-dimensional nature shone forth before I shut the book close. So continued reading, I did.

One of my favorite parts of the novel, aside from Vimes showing his soft side for his son, is the affair regarding his sandwich. What makes a great BLT? I replicated what I envisioned as a Vimes BLT. When Ryan saw the sandwich, his smile lit up our humble abode. Then his smile’s wattage dropped when I told him it was just for show (yes, I know, I must be evil, mean, and blah-blah-blah-blah, for not allowing my fiancé eat a B11LT).

I suggested that a max of double of what I’m having is sensible. Fortunately, he has a balanced outlook on indulgence so he didn’t mind my “strictness” at all.

And so for your viewing pleasure, below are: the Vimes BLT, what I considered a BLT when I was a vegetarian (vegetarian BLT a.k.a. Bread, Lettuce, and Tomato), and what I consider a healthy BLT (B2LT) now that I’m back to being an omnivore.

_mg_42472

Bread. Necessary for BLT. Unless you’re gravely serious and gravely literal, in which case, bread is omitted.

_mg_4220

Lettuce and tomato. For those who care.

_mg_4229

Bacon. Another necessary ingredient for BLT. Others would say that it is the spirit of BLT.

_mg_4251

My version of the Vimes BLT. I hope I did Vimes proud.

_mg_4257

The Veggie BLT from my experimental years during high school and part of college.

_mg_42661

My sensible BLT (B2LT).

_mg_42672

My sensible BLT with stewed radicchio (a story for another day) and garlic fries.

A special note:

capture

As the graph illustrates, when the number of bacon is at 0 (y-intercept should be at 0 but something is clearly wrong with my graph), deliciousness is also at 0. However, as the number of bacon increases, so does deliciousness. I conclude that higher amounts of bacon is linked to increased deliciousness (and increased risk of cardiovascular diseases, etc—I’ll risk the “boos”).

5 Responses to “The Sam Vimes BLT”

  1. ryanr 1, February 2009 at 2:56 pm #

    This blog entry rocks! Your version of Vimes BLT– the one I couldn’t eat…– looks *drool*… sorry, lost my thought…bacon…

    Your photos look really good. =)

  2. chroniccravings 1, February 2009 at 3:25 pm #

    Aww…thanks R! How sweet of you! I’m glad you don’t hold grudges over bacon or anything. :)

  3. Bane 1, February 2009 at 4:58 pm #

    :D I like it, very nice. At this rate I’m going to have to get you reading Mostly Harmless to see a reproduction of Arthur’s sandwich making, too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five Guys Burgers and Fries in Redmond « Chronic Cravings - 28, October 2011

    [...] no veggie burger patty involve, it really is just a “veggie sandwich” – think BLT as in bread, lettuce, and [...]

  2. Bacon butty « Chronic Cravings - 1, October 2012

    [...] the BLT, while in the UK, they have bacon butty.  Bacon butty is essentially bacon sandwich.  No lettuce and tomatoes.  Just buttered bread, bacon, and brown sauce.  It’s as simple as that.  The Hubby, who [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.